War of Independence 1857

1. The War of Independence took place in the year 1857.

2. The commander of the combined forces in the 1857 war was Sir John Shore.

3. In the 1857 war, the fight at Jhansi was led by Rani Laxmi Bai.

4. The revolt of 1857 started first from Meerut.

5. The first bullet was fired from the city of Meerut in the 1857 war.

6. Bahadur Shah was exiled to Rangoon.

7. East India Company was ended by the British Government on 1st Nov. 1858.

Scroll to Top